Diary of Events

Use any or all of the criteria below to limit your search.

Search for events

Saturday 20 September 2014

Time Title
09:30 The Mystery of Edwin Drood: Solutions and Resolutions
To celebrate the official launch of The Drood Inquiry, this one-day conference will explore the mysterious world of Drood and its so...

Friday 26 September 2014

Time Title
18:00 Finnegans Wake Research Seminar
tbc
tbc

Friday 3 October 2014

Time Title
18:00 The Charles Peake Ulysses Seminar
On the 3rd of October, the seminar will resume with Chapter 7, 'Aeolus', line 161: "A typesetter brought him a limp galleypage."
TBA

Saturday 4 October 2014

Time Title
11:00 Modernism Seminar
Maps and Charts    
Randall Stevenson (Edinburgh): Innumerable Circles. . . Chaos and Eternity': Conrad, Modernism and the Maritimes Elza Adamowitz (Go...

Monday 6 October 2014

Time Title
17:15 London Shakespeare Seminar
James I and drama 
David Bergeron (Kansas University) Eric Rasmussen (University of Nevada)

Thursday 9 October 2014

Time Title
18:30 London Theatre Seminar

Melissa Blanco Borelli (Royal Holloway) and Royona Mitra (Brunel)
18:30 London Theatre Seminar

Friday 10 October 2014

Time Title
18:00 Ezra Pound Cantos Reading Group
TBA
TBA

Saturday 11 October 2014

Time Title
09:00 Dickens Day 2014: Dickens and Conviviality
Dickens Day, now in its 28th year, is looking at how conviviality features in Dickens’s life and work.  Dickens’s works...
14:00 Contemporary Fiction Research Seminar
'Scores & Scripts: New Comic Art'.  Which comes first, the story or the pictures? Five comics creators discuss narrative, notation a...
John Miers, John Riordan, Woodrow Phoenix, Gary Northfield, and Kripa Joshi

Tuesday 14 October 2014

Time Title
17:30 Medieval Manuscripts Seminar
Charming a Sacred Book: the Matthew Portrait and Irish Incantations in St Gall Codex 1395
Dr Carol A. Farr (Independent scholar, formerly University of Alabama, Huntsville)
18:00 Book Collecting Seminar
A History of the Twentieth Century in 100 Maps  
Tim Bryars and Tom Harper

Wednesday 15 October 2014

Time Title
18:00 Contemporary Innovative Poetry Research Seminar
TBA
TBA
19:00 Roehampton Poetry Reading
TBA
TBA

Thursday 16 October 2014

Time Title
18:00 The Annual Wordsworth Lecture
Professor Fiona Stafford (Oxford): 'Wordsworth and the Meaning of Trees' From the 'Sylvan Wye' by Tintern Abbey to the 'leafy glen' in '...
Fiona Stafford

Saturday 18 October 2014

Time Title
14:00 EMPHASIS (Early Modern Philosophy and the Scientific Imagination)
Political Economy and the Making of Experimental Science in Seventeenth-Century England
Koji Yamamoto (King's College London)

Tuesday 21 October 2014

Time Title
17:30 Contemporary Cultures of Writing Seminar
TBA
TBA

Wednesday 22 October 2014

Time Title
17:30 London Old and Middle English Research Seminar (LOMERS)
TBA
TBA

Thursday 23 October 2014

Time Title
18:00 Media History Seminar
TBA
TBA

Friday 24 October 2014

Time Title
Celebrating Chinua Achebe's Legacy: "Arrow of God" at 50
An international conference to commemorate Chinua Achebe’s work and influence, and to mark the fiftieth anniversary of the publicat...